​Fontana Teachers Association

Est. 1950


Members set FTA policy either directly or through elected representatives.


Site Representatives are elected by and from the Active membership for each faculty group.  These representatives serve a term of one year. Each site or sit unit is entitled to at least one representative for each forty Active members on the staff, or major fraction thereof.


The officers of the Association are the President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer.  Officers are elected by and from the Active membership of the Association. Officers shall be elected for a term of 2 years, commencing on July 1 of any calendar year.  The President shall not serve more than 2 consecutive terms.


The Executive Board is composed of elected officers and may include members elected at-large from the Active membership.  Our current Executive Board includes the Officers mentioned above, Elementary Directors, Middle School Directors, and High School Directors.  The Executive Board coordinates the activities of the Association, act for the Representative Council when school is not in session, direct the bargaining activities of the Association, subject to policies established by the Representative Council, approving appointment and removal of bargaining team members, recommend a budget for the Association, adopt grievance procedure and direct grievance activities of the Association and exercise all the business and organizational powers and duties for the Association as prescribed by law and the Association bylaws, subject to restrictions that may be imposed by the Representative Council.


FTA has 9 committees that help formulate FTA policy.  These committees reflect a wide range of interests and specialties.